Sprott Money Review

In-depth review

Sprott Money Review (2026)

Sprott Money is best for physical bullion buyers who value published retail prices, established dealer experience, and professional storage options, while U.S. IRA investors should confirm all custody arrangements and account costs before investing.

3.9

Our score / 5

Founded

2008

Metals offered

Gold, Silver, Platinum

Storage

Brink’s and IDS

BBB rating

A+

The quick verdict

Is Sprott Money worth it?

Sprott Money is worth considering for physical bullion purchases, particularly for investors who want recognizable coins and bars with published retail prices. Its U.S. IRA information directs customers to a separate custodian, so retirement investors should obtain a complete fee schedule and confirm the depository before funding an account.

Bottom line

Best for buyers comparing bullion products and professional storage. Consider alternatives if you want a complete gold IRA pricing package published in one place.

What we like

✓ Published online product prices support comparison shopping.
✓ Gold, silver, and platinum offer several investment choices.
✓ Professional storage is available alongside direct purchases.
✓ The company has operated since 2008 and holds BBB accreditation. 

Watch out for

✗ IRA setup and administration fees require separate confirmation.
✗ Minimum storage charges can make smaller holdings relatively expensive.
✗ Purchase premiums, resale spreads, and falling metal prices can reduce returns.

Best for

✓ Investors seeking physical bullion ownership.
✓ Buyers willing to compare dealer, custodian, and storage costs.
✓ Customers wanting professional storage or delivery for non-IRA purchases.

Not ideal for

✗ Investors seeking regular income or guaranteed returns.
✗ Retirement savers who want every account expense disclosed in one consolidated schedule

Costs

Fees, pricing & minimums

Sprott Money’s reviewed public IRA information does not establish a single minimum investment or a complete schedule of setup and annual custodian fees. Its IRA page directs fee questions to the custodian. Request a written quote covering account opening, annual administration, storage, transactions, transfers, and account closure.

For general bullion storage, the U.S. schedule displays annual rates ranging from 0.65% for holdings below $100,000 to 0.35% for holdings of $5 million or more. A minimum monthly charge of $16.67 USD applies per location, equivalent to approximately $200 annually before applicable taxes. These published storage rates should not be treated as a complete IRA fee quote.

The online catalogue displays retail prices, including quantity-dependent pricing on some products. Compare each purchase price with the metal’s spot value and request a resale quote to understand the spread. Shipping, payment method, quantity, and currency can affect the final comparison. Promotional prices are time-sensitive.

✓ Account minimum: Not Disclosed
✓ Setup fee: Not Disclosed
✓ Annual fees: $200
✓ Pricing model: Transparent

Security

Storage & custody

Sprott Money identifies Brink’s and International Depository Services among its general storage partners. Its storage program advertises allocated, segregated holdings and insurance against physical loss, theft, and damage. Review the governing agreement and policy terms, including exclusions and coverage limits. Insurance does not protect against declining bullion prices. 

Its public U.S. IRA page links to New Direction’s account platform. Before proceeding, confirm the current legal custodian, the available depository, and the ownership records established for the account. General international storage options should not automatically be assumed available for a U.S. IRA.

IRA-owned bullion must remain under a compliant custody arrangement. IRS guidance requires qualifying bullion to be in the physical possession of a bank or IRS-approved nonbank trustee. Investors cannot keep IRA bullion at home as personal property while preserving compliant IRA custody.

✓ Depositories: Brink’s and International Depository Services
✓ Storage type: Segregated / Commingled
✓ Custodian: New Direction
✓ Fully insured: Yes

Products

Metals & product selection

Sprott Money sells gold, silver, and platinum coins and bars online and by telephone. Its gold catalogue includes Canadian Maple Leafs, American Eagles, American Buffalo coins, and a Sprott Spirit Bear round. This selection allows buyers to compare recognizable bullion products, although availability changes.

A retail listing does not establish IRA eligibility. The company’s IRA information identifies qualifying gold, silver, and platinum bullion, but the custodian should approve each purchase. Most eligible gold bullion must meet 99.5% fineness, while qualifying American Gold Eagle coins have a statutory exception. Collectibles and other products require separate eligibility checks.

✓ Metals: Gold, Silver, and Platinum
✓ Popular coins:  Canadian Maple Leafs, American Eagles, and American Buffalo gold coins
✓ IRA-eligible bars: Yes
✓ Home delivery (non-IRA): Yes

Trust

Reputation & track record

BBB lists Sprott Money’s business start date as February 28, 2008, and accreditation since July 26, 2011. Its profile shows an A+ rating and positive customer comments about service, delivery, and pricing. BBB accreditation is a business-reputation signal, rather than investment approval or a guarantee of future service.

The retrieved Trustpilot listing displays a TrustScore of 4 out of 5. Review scores change, and retail purchase feedback provides limited evidence about IRA administration. This research does not establish a complete regulatory or litigation history. Sprott Money’s own disclaimer states that it is not a registered securities or investment dealer and that its products are not government-insured deposits.

✓ In business since: 2008
✓ BBB: A+ (Accredited)
✓ Customer sentiment: Positive service and delivery comments on BBB; retrieved Trustpilot score of 4/5.
✓ Notable recognition: Founded by Eric Sprott; no independently verified award is included in this assessment.

Scorecard

How we scored Sprott Money

Fees & value 3.5
Product selection 4.2
Storage & security 4.0
Customer support 4.2
Reputation 3.8

Not sure Sprott Money is the right fit?

See how it stacks up against every provider we rate.

Compare the best gold IRA companies

Editorial

How we review gold IRA companies

This review assesses public product listings, fee disclosures, storage descriptions, IRA onboarding information, BBB records, and available customer feedback. The provisional methodology weights fees and value at 30%, product selection at 20%, storage and security at 20%, customer support at 15%, and reputation at 15%. The weighted result is 3.89, rounded to 3.9 out of 5.

The assessment is based on desk research. We did not open an account, purchase bullion, test withdrawals, inspect a vault, or independently audit insurance. Consistent provider comparisons require the same scoring method and evidence standards. An existing publisher-wide scoring history or affiliate relationship has not been verified.

✓ We assess fees, selection, storage, support, and reputation
✓ Scores are weighted and applied consistently across providers
✓ We may earn a commission via affiliate links, which never changes our scoring

FAQ

Common questions about Sprott Money

What is Sprott Money’s minimum investment?

A single U.S. IRA minimum was not verified in the reviewed public information. Its general storage program states that no minimum holding amount is required, although minimum storage fees apply. Confirm IRA funding and purchase requirements separately.

Is Sprott Money a legitimate, safe choice?

Its documented operating history and BBB accreditation support its status as an established bullion business. Precious metals still carry investment risk, and accreditation does not guarantee a transaction. Review pricing, custody, insurance, and resale terms before committing funds.

Can I roll over a 401(k) into a gold IRA with them?

Sprott Money offers bullion purchasing through a separate self-directed IRA custodian. An eligible 401(k) distribution can generally move directly to a traditional IRA without current income tax when completed correctly. Plan restrictions apply, and moving pretax funds to a Roth IRA generally creates taxable income. A direct rollover avoids mandatory withholding on an eligible employer-plan distribution.

Where will my metals be stored?

The IRA custodian must confirm the specific depository and compliant custody arrangement before purchase. Sprott Money’s general vault network is a separate offering. IRA bullion cannot be held at home as the investor’s personal property while maintaining compliant IRA custody.

Final verdict

Should you choose Sprott Money?

Sprott Money deserves consideration for physical bullion purchases and professional storage. For a U.S. gold IRA, compare its written total costs, approved products, custody arrangements, and exit charges with competing providers before choosing it. Its established history is a strength, while incomplete consolidated IRA pricing remains a practical limitation.

Affiliate disclosure: We may earn a commission if you open an account through our links, at no extra cost to you. This can influence which companies we feature. We only cover providers we believe offer genuine value.

Not financial advice: Informational only. Precious-metals investing carries risk, including loss of principal. Consult a licensed advisor before investing.

George Risto

George Risto

George is an experienced professional in the precious metals investment industry, with extensive knowledge of gold IRAs and the companies that offer them. His research and experience evaluating precious metals providers have made him a trusted source for investors seeking reliable information and well-informed investment options.