United Gold Direct Review

In-depth review

United Gold Direct Review (2026)

United Gold Direct may interest researchers comparing older precious-metals dealers, but its inaccessible website, limited current disclosures and material regulatory history make better-documented active providers more suitable for new IRA investors.

2.0

Our score / 5

Founded

1996

Metals offered

Gold, Silver, Platinum, and Palladium

Storage

Delaware Depository

BBB rating

A+

The quick verdict

Is United Gold Direct worth it?

United Gold Direct is difficult to recommend to a new retirement investor in 2026 because its official website is inaccessible and current IRA fees, custodian relationships and operating terms cannot be independently confirmed. Although the BBB profile lists an A+ rating and a long business history, a 2020 California regulatory consent order involving the company and its managing member is a significant due-diligence concern.

Bottom line

Best for existing customers who need to verify records or servicing arrangements. New investors should consider active providers with accessible websites, current written fee schedules and clearly documented custody relationships.

What we like

✓ Long operating history reported by the BBB
✓ Historically offered gold, silver, platinum and palladium
✓ Supported direct purchases as well as precious-metals IRA transactions
✓ BBB currently displays an A+ rating

Watch out for

✗ Official website is currently inaccessible
✗ California regulator issued a 2020 consent order containing serious findings
✗ Current pricing, fees, custodian and depository relationships are not verifiable online

Best for

✓ Existing customers reviewing historical account documents
✓ Researchers comparing legacy precious-metals dealers
✓ Customers who can independently confirm current operations and protections in writing

Not ideal for

✗ New Gold IRA investors seeking a transparent and fully documented provider
✗ Anyone unwilling to accept unresolved operational and disclosure uncertainty

Costs

Fees, pricing & minimums

United Gold Direct historically required a reported minimum purchase of $1,500, but that figure comes from older third-party coverage and should not be treated as a verified current requirement. 

The company did not publish detailed product prices online in that coverage, and buyers were directed to call for quotes. Shipping, handling and insurance could apply to direct purchases, while IRA customers could also incur setup, administration, transaction and depository storage charges from third-party providers.

No dependable current schedule for account setup, annual custody or storage is publicly available. Investors should not transfer funds based on historical summaries. Any prospective customer should first verify that the company is actively accepting orders, obtain an itemized written quote showing the metal’s spot value and dealer premium, identify every third-party fee and independently contact the named custodian and depository. Promotions or discounts reported in older material may no longer be available.

✓ Account minimum: Unverifiable
✓ Setup fee: Not Disclosed
✓ Annual fees: Not Disclosed
✓ Pricing model: Phone quote

Security

Storage & custody

Older third-party information associated United Gold Direct with Delaware Depository and described physically segregated, insured storage. However, the company’s inaccessible website prevents confirmation that this relationship remains active. No current custodian is clearly disclosed through an accessible official source. Prospective investors should therefore avoid relying on historical provider names and should verify custody and storage directly with the institutions involved.

IRA-owned precious metals must remain under a qualified trustee or custodian’s control at an approved facility. Personal delivery or home storage can be treated as a distribution, potentially producing income tax and penalties. Before any transaction, the investor should obtain the custodian’s legal name, depository agreement, storage type, insurance limits, audit procedures, withdrawal rules and complete fee schedule in writing.

✓ Depositories: Delaware Depository
✓ Storage type: Not Disclosed
✓ Custodian: Not Disclosed
✓ Fully insured: Not Disclosed

Products

Metals & product selection

United Gold Direct historically marketed gold, silver, platinum and palladium bars, bullion and internationally recognized coins, along with certified numismatic and rare coins. Reported inventory included American Eagles, Canadian Maple Leafs, Australian coins and older U.S. Liberty and Indian coinage. This represented a broad product range, but an inaccessible catalog means current availability cannot be established.

Retirement investors should distinguish common IRA-eligible bullion from collectible or numismatic coins, many of which do not qualify and may carry substantially higher premiums. A custodian must approve each product before purchase. Direct home delivery may historically have been available for non-IRA transactions, but investors should confirm current fulfillment, insurance and return terms before sending money.

✓ Metals: Gold, silver, platinum, palladium (Historically)
✓ Popular coins: American Eagles, Canadian Maple Leafs and selected Australian and classic U.S. coins
✓ IRA-eligible bars: Not Disclosed
✓ Home delivery (non-IRA): Yes

Trust

Reputation & track record

The BBB profile lists United Gold Direct as having started business in 1996, with the LLC incorporated in California in 2009. It currently shows an A+ rating but explicitly states that the company is not BBB accredited. A BBB rating is not a government endorsement and must be weighed alongside regulatory records and current operating transparency.

In August 2020, the California Department of Business Oversight, now the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation, entered a consent order with United Gold Direct and managing member Marc Rudolph Harrison. 

The order states findings involving undelivered precious metals, unpaid proceeds from customer sales and use of client funds for operating and other expenses. This regulatory history materially reduces the reputation score. Current independent customer feedback is limited and mixed, while older favorable testimonials predate the order and do not resolve present-day concerns.

✓ In business since: 1996
✓ BBB: A+ (Not Accredited)
✓ Customer sentiment: Limited and mixed current feedback, with historical complaints requiring careful review]
✓ Notable recognition: No current award relied upon; 2020 California consent order is the most material public record

Scorecard

How we scored United Gold Direct

Fees & value 1.7
Product selection 2.2
Storage & security 1.5
Customer support 2.5
Reputation 1.8

Not sure United Gold Direct is the right fit?

See how it stacks up against every provider we rate.

Compare the best gold IRA companies

Editorial

How we review gold IRA companies

We assess whether investors can verify the provider’s current fees, product pricing, IRA eligibility rules, custodian and depository arrangements, customer support and public record. Scores are weighted consistently, with missing current disclosures reducing the relevant categories. 

Regulatory findings, complaint handling, website accessibility and the ability to confirm that advertised services remain active all influence the reputation and security assessments.

This review separates historical marketing claims from presently verifiable facts. Affiliate relationships may influence which providers are featured, but they do not override the scoring framework or prevent a negative conclusion when the available evidence warrants one.

✓ We assess fees, selection, storage, support, and reputation
✓ Scores are weighted and applied consistently across providers
✓ We may earn a commission via affiliate links, which never changes our scoring

FAQ

Common questions about United Gold Direct

What is United Gold Direct’s minimum investment?

Older third-party information reported a $1,500 minimum per transaction. Because the official website is inaccessible and no current fee schedule could be verified, prospective customers should not assume that minimum remains valid. Confirm all requirements in writing before transferring funds.

Is United Gold Direct a legitimate, safe choice?

United Gold Direct is a real California LLC with a long-standing BBB profile, but that alone does not establish that it is a suitable current choice. Its website is inaccessible, it is not BBB accredited and the 2020 California consent order contains serious findings involving client property and funds. New investors should favor providers whose current operations, fees, custody arrangements and regulatory record can be fully verified.

Can I roll over a 401(k) into a gold IRA with them?

United Gold Direct historically offered IRA and 401(k) rollover assistance, but its current ability to provide that service could not be confirmed. A properly completed direct trustee-to-trustee rollover generally avoids current taxation and withholding, subject to plan eligibility and applicable rules. Investors should work directly with the existing plan administrator and a verified self-directed IRA custodian rather than sending retirement funds until every party and instruction has been independently authenticated.

Where will my metals be stored?

Historical sources identified Delaware Depository, but no current arrangement could be confirmed. IRA metals must be controlled by a qualified custodian and stored at an approved depository; home storage is not permitted under the conventional custodial structure. Confirm the facility, insurance and account ownership directly with the custodian and vault.

Final verdict

Should you choose United Gold Direct?

United Gold Direct does not provide enough verifiable current information to earn a recommendation for new investors in 2026. Its historical product breadth and A+ BBB rating are outweighed by an inaccessible website, undisclosed current fees and providers, non-accredited BBB status and the serious findings in a 2020 California consent order. Existing customers should preserve all records and independently confirm the status of their metals, funds, custodian and depository.

Affiliate disclosure: We may earn a commission if you open an account through our links, at no extra cost to you. This can influence which companies we feature. We only cover providers we believe offer genuine value.

Not financial advice: Informational only. Precious-metals investing carries risk, including loss of principal. Consult a licensed advisor before investing.

George Risto

George Risto

George is an experienced professional in the precious metals investment industry, with extensive knowledge of gold IRAs and the companies that offer them. His research and experience evaluating precious metals providers have made him a trusted source for investors seeking reliable information and well-informed investment options.